Penzance lighthouse and St Michael's Mount

A bit of plagiarism…


This is the view out over Penzance’s outer harbour, past the lighthouse and on to St Michael’s Mount in the distance. It was taken with my 400mm lens which has the effect of making everything seem a little closer together. The Mount is in fact about 3 miles beyond the end of the pier.

Whilst I’ll happily take the credit for the execution of this photo I’ll also happily confess to ‘borrowing’ the idea from fellow photographer Mike Newman, whose shot was used on the cover of Cornwall Today. I like to think using another photographer’s ideas is a long way removed from using another photographer’s photos – it is in the eyes of the law I suppose. I took the photo as I really liked the original, I suppose this is the same motivation that has driven people to copy artworks throughout history. That and I just like taking photos…

One thought on “A bit of plagiarism…

  1. Chillbrook

    It’s a smashing shot. I don’t think you need to worry about plagiarism in this instance, the view is there for all. If none of us could take pictures of a view that another photographer had already taken, they’d be nothing left for us to shoot. It’s all about the light and the execution and you’ve done a fine job on this one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

