Cot Valley - St Just

Cot Valley, Slow Water


Cot Valley cove, Porth Nanven or Dinosaur Egg beach, call it what you will, here it is at the end of a short winter’s day. Situated less than a mile away from the old mining town of St Just and a couple of miles up the coast from Land’s End this is West Cornwall at its most rugged.

I took this photo quite a few years back and it was one of my favourites at the time. I think I was experimenting with grad filters and was happy to lug a tripod around (how things have changed!). I think if I’d taken it now I’d probably have tweaked it a bit more in Photoshop, but I was more restrained in those days.

I’ve always been a sucker for the “slow water” effect you get on long exposures and I’m particularly happy with the way the stream has turned white here giving it a ghostly, ethereal feel.

2 thoughts on “Cot Valley, Slow Water

Leave a Reply

