Cornish Night Sky


Has been a long while since I posted anything here. Not so much because I haven’t been taking photos, quite the contrary, just been a little busy on other projects.

This shot is quite a recent one. I’d been thinking of going out and trying a bit of night sky photography for a while and for some reason I decided to do it this particular night. Turns out I couldn’t have picked a much better night if I’d tried. The sky was as clear as it gets and no moon.

I left the house thinking I’d need the night sky app on my phone to locate the Milky Way. I didn’t, it was actually pretty obvious.

Having read up a little on what settings and kit to use I was fairly confident I knew what I was doing. In reality its a little more complicated – actually trying to compose a photo when you can’t see anything is pretty tricky. I also tried a few shots ‘painting’ the foreground with my torch. I found after just a second of pointing it I’d blown the highlights.

So, here is one of the best of the bunch. This is the engine house at Carn Galva near Zennor under the Milky Way.

Leave a comment